Twins in the Tuileries Gardens: a shared history but different destinies
Le Nôtre’s triangular terraces form a right-angled base for the buildings of the Orangerie and the Jeu de Paume. In 1909, the Jeu de Paume became an exhibition space before becoming, in 1922, an annexe of the Musée du Luxembourg, dedicated to contemporary foreign schools. As for the Orangerie, in that same year, 1922, Claude Monet’s donation to the State of the monumental series of Water Lily paintings was formalised, and building work was started in order to install them there according to his specifications.
Today, the Musée de l’Orangerie is an exceptional exhibition space for the artistic creation of the first decades of the 20th century, while the Jeu de Paume is a leading art centre for the techniques of image making in the 20th and 21st centuries. The dialogue thus continues, and is renewed in the programmes of these two institutions and through the exchanges between painting and photography that are an important feature of the aesthetic changes in modern art.
The tour invites you to discover these two emblematic institutions of the Tuileries Gardens and the links that unite them.