The last transformation of the Orangerie took place between 2000 and 2006 under the guidance of the architect Olivier Brochet, of the Brochet Lajus Pueyo architecture firm. The rooms constructed on two levels were knocked down and the natural light was restored in the Water Lilies rooms. Rooms were dug out on the basement level in the north of the building in order to install the Jean Walter and Paul Guillaume collection. Temporary exhibition spaces, an auditorium, an education space and a library were also created. The works were delayed and modified by the discovery of the vestiges of the "yellow Ditches" wall, constructed as of 1566 to protect the Tuileries Palace.
The museum reopened on 17 May 2006 and once again adopted an ambitious exhibition policy. It has been attached to the Musée d'Orsay within the Public Establishment of the Musée d’Orsay and Musée de l’Orangerie since May 2010.
The building is currently surrounded by a number of sculptures. Along the northern façade visitors can see a work from 1986 by Alain Kirili, born in 1946, Grand Commandement blanc [White Commandment], and three bronze casts by Auguste Rodin (1840-1917): Eve (1881, cast circa 1889), Méditation avec bras [Meditation with Arms] (1881, cast circa 1905) and L’Ombre [The Shade] (1881, cast circa 1904). A cast of Rodin's Baiser [The Kiss] can also be seen in front of the museum entrance. Visitors arriving at the building from the opposite side to the entrance can see Reclining Nude, cast in 1951 by Henry Moore (1898-1986) at the foot of the staircase, and a cast of Le Lion au serpent [Lion with a Snake] by Antoine-Louis Barye (1796-1875) on the waterfront terrace.